

G/SG/N/8/IDN/29/Suppl.3 G/SG/N/10/IDN/29/Suppl.3 G/SG/N/11/IDN/27/Suppl.1

19 January 2024

Original: English

(24-0439) Page: 1/3

Committee on Safeguards

NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 12.1(B) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS ON FINDING A SERIOUS INJURY OR THREAT THEREOF CAUSED BY INCREASED IMPORTS

NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 12.1(C) OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

NOTIFICATION PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 9, FOOTNOTE 2 OF THE AGREEMENT ON SAFEGUARDS

INDONESIA

Cigarette Paper and Plug Wrap Paper Non-Porous

Supplement

The following communication, dated and received on 19 January 2024, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of Indonesia.

Pursuant to Article 7.2 and Article 12.1(c) of the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Republic of Indonesia hereby notifies to extend the imposition of a safeguard measures in the form of specific safeguard duty on the importation of Subject Good, for a period of 3 (three) years by the issuance of Minister of Finance's Decree Number 151 Year 2023 dated 27 December 2023, promulgated in the Official Gazette of the Republic of Indonesia Year 2023 Number 1056 on 28 December 2023.

GENERAL BACKGROUND

On 11 September 2023 the Republic of Indonesia notified the findings of investigation in which it was concluded that the relevant safeguard measure needs to be extended, in particular, to prevent or remedy serious injury suffered by the Applicant. The extension of such safeguard measures will also give the Applicant the opportunity to continue their adjustment program in order to improve the competitiveness of domestic industry ($\frac{G}{SG/N/8}$ / $\frac{IDN}{29}$ / $\frac{Suppl.2}{Suppl.2}$ - $\frac{G}{SG/N/11}$ / $\frac{IDN}{27}$)

It was also indicated in the notification that the Investigating Authority was proposing to the Government of the Republic of Indonesia, to extend the imposition of a safeguard measures duty on the importation of the Subject Goods in the form of specific safeguard duty.

SUBJECT GOOD

"Cigarette Paper and Plug Wrap Paper Non-Porous", under the Indonesia Harmonized System (HS.) Code: 4813.20.21, 4813.20.23, 4813.20.31, ex4813.20.32, 4813.90.11, ex4813.90.19, 4813.90.91 and ex4813.90.99" in accordance with Indonesian Tariff Book (BTKI) 2022.

DESCRIPTION OF THE SAFEGUARD MEASURE

1. With reference to the proposal from the Investigating Authority, and taking into account the need to effectuate the safeguard measure as proposed and the relevant requirement stipulated in the WTO Agreement on Safeguards, the Government of the Republic of Indonesia has decided to impose the following safeguard duty:

Timetable of the Safeguard Duty

Period	Safeguard Duty (IDR/Ton)
(3 January 2024 - 2 January 2025)	3.923.900
(3 January 2025 - 2 January 2026)	3.885.850
(3 January 2026 - 2 January 2027)	3.847.800

2. Below is the list of developing countries excluded from the said safeguard measures and the Government of the Republic of Indonesia reserves the right to modify this list in light of changing import volumes

List of Developing Countries Excluded from the Measure

No.	Country	No.	Country
1	Afghanistan	25	Congo
2	Albania	26	Costa Rica
3	Angola	27	Côte d'Ivoire
4	Antigua and Barbuda	28	Cuba
5	Argentina	29	Democratic Republic of the Congo
6	Armenia	30	Djibouti
7	Bahrain, Kingdom of	31	Dominica
8	Bangladesh	32	Dominican Republic
9	Barbados	33	Ecuador
10	Belize	34	Egypt
11	Benin	35	El Salvador
12	Bolivia, Plurinational State of	36	Eswatini
13	Botswana	37	Fiji
14	Brazil	38	Gabon
15	Brunei Darussalam	39	Gambia
16	Burkina Faso	40	Georgia
17	Burundi	41	Ghana
18	Cabo Verde	42	Grenada
19	Cambodia	43	Guatemala
20	Cameroon	44	Guinea
21	Central African Republic	45	Guinea-Bissau
22	Chad	46	Guyana
23	Chile	47	Haiti
24	Colombia	48	Honduras

No.	Country	No.	Country
49	Hong Kong, China	76	Namibia
50	India	77	Nepal
51	Israel	78	Nicaragua
52	Jamaica	79	Niger
53	Jordan	80	Nigeria
54	Kazakhstan	81	North Macedonia
55	Kenya	82	Oman
56	Kuwait, the State of	83	Pakistan
57	Kyrgyz Republic	84	Panama
58	Lao People's Democratic Republic	85	Papua New Guinea
59	Lesotho	86	Paraguay
60	Liberia	87	Peru
61	Macao, China	88	Philippines
62	Madagascar	89	Qatar
63	Malawi	90	Russian Federation
64	Malaysia	91	Rwanda
65	Maldives	92	Saint Kitts and Nevis
66	Mali	93	Saint Lucia
67	Mauritania	94	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
68	Mauritius	95	Samoa
69	Mexico	96	Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of
70	Moldova, Republic of	97	Senegal
71	Mongolia	98	Seychelles
72	Montenegro	99	Sierra Leone
73	Morocco	100	Singapore
74	Mozambique	101	Solomon Islands
75	Myanmar	102	South Africa
103	Sri Lanka	113	Türkiye
104	Suriname	114	Uganda
105	Chinese Taipei	115	Ukraine
106	Tajikistan	116	United Arab Emirates
107	Tanzania	117	Uruguay
108	Thailand	118	Vanuatu
109	Togo	119	Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
110	Tonga	120	Yemen
111	Trinidad and Tobago	121	Zambia
112	Tunisia	122	Zimbabwe